Taco Fiesta in Yo Mouth Dip

 tacofiestainyomouthdip.jpg

We take birthdays, holidays, and work anniversaries seriously in my department at work.  We like to come up with reasons just to bring in food for a pot luck.  This week we celebrated the birth of our co-worker Kim.  Like usual, I wanted to try and make something new and try it out on my co-workers.  This time I wanted to make something tacoishy (I know this is not a real word, but it fits with how I was feeling J) because that is what I was craving the morning of the pot luck.

I completely forgot to go to the store on my way home from work on Wednesday night and didn’t feel like going out again once I was home. I figured I could just run to the store during my lunch break.

Fast forward to Thursday morning. I ran to the grocery store with my co-worker Emily (she also had to pick something up for the pot luck). On the way over I told her I was thinking of doing something tacoishy so I knew on my “list” I need sour cream and taco seasoning, but that really didn’t mater because I kept coming up with ideas in the store. We ended up bouncing around from aisle to aisle as I thought of new thing to add. It went kind of like this:

After getting to the store I thought, “diced green chilies would be amazing in the dip!” Emily agreed that they would really add to the dip. We got chips to eat with the dip, blue corn tortilla chips. Then we headed to get the taco seasoning in the ‘Mexican’ food isle. I figured shredded cheddar cheese would be AMAZING in the dip. Off we went to get the cheese. “What about Mexi-corn?!?!,” I asked. Emily agreed that it would be a great idea. We walked to the canned vegetable isle. After getting the Mexi-corn, I realized I never picked up the sour cream. While walking all the way to the other side of the store to pick up the sour cream, I realized I never picked up the diced green chilies that I wanted to add to the dip. Once again, back to the ‘Mexican’ isle.

Finally we pay for our items and head back to work. Now time to put the dip together!!

IMG_3916.jpg

In a large bowl I put the sour cream and taco seasoning.

IMG_3920.jpg

Mix the sour cream and taco seasoning. When making a dip I like to mix the dry ingredients first that way it creates a nice base to the dip and I can make sure all the dry ingredients are mixed in well.

IMG_3921.jpg

I then added the draining diced green chilies and Mexi-corn.

IMG_3922.jpg

I had to mix it very carefully as I didn’t really plan out a big enough bowl to add everything to it.

IMG_3923.jpg

CHEESE!! I love cheese. I mixed that in.

IMG_3924.jpg

Guess I don’t have a picture of everything mixed together like I thought.

Well, after mixing everything together I let it ‘meld’ in the refrigerator for an hour.

It was then time for the ‘party!’

Chips + Dip = soooo good!

IMG_3925.jpg

Now I was really expecting to take some of the dip home with me to eat with dinner, but I guess my coworkers had other ideas. At the end of the day, I had nothing, that’s right NOTHING left. I guess they really liked the dip.

I was really happy to see that everyone enjoyed the dip, especially since I made the dip up on the fly. I plan to put this recipe in my recipe binder and make it again in the future.

Taco Fiesta in Yo Mouth Dip

  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 24 oz Sour Cream
  • 1 packet Taco Seasoning
  • 1 4oz can diced green chilies
  • 1 11oz can Mexi-Corn
  • 2 cups shredded cheddar cheese

Directions:

  1. Mix sour cream and taco seasoning together.
  2. Stir in diced green chilies and Mexi-corn.
  3. Stir in shredded cheddar cheese.

Posted on May 23, 2014, in Appetizers, Dips, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

